Category: Books

My Week of Reading #1

My Week of Reading #1

Hi guys!  Over the last couple of months, I’ve been a huge fan of Booktube.  For those of you who may not know what Booktube is, it’s basically the name for vloggers who create content on Youtube based on books. I really enjoy watching Booktubers recap their week of reading, and thought I’d start doing the same here. I’ve always been pretty poor at posting traditional reviews, I procrastinate and procrastinate, and then I completely forget all about it.  I also never seem to have enough to say, or I have trouble getting my thoughts out in a detailed way.  Instead, I thought why not post mini reviews of the books I’ve read each week?  So, here goes! This past […]

Posted November 19, 2017 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: The First Third by Will Kostakis

Review: The First Third by Will Kostakis

The First Third by Will Kostakis Published by Penguin Australia on July 24th 2013 Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Pages: 248 Format: Paperback Source: I bought it! Book Depository | Bookworld | Booktopia Goodreads Reading Challenges: A-Z Reading Challenge 2016, Australian YA Bloggers & Readers 2016 Book Club Challenge, Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, The 2016 Bookish Bingo Challenge Life is made up of three parts: in the first third, you’re embarrassed by your family; in the second, you make a family of your own; and in the end, you just embarrass the family you’ve made. That’s how Billy’s grandmother explains it, anyway. She’s given him her bucket list (cue embarrassment), and now, it’s his job to glue their family back together. […]

Posted March 3, 2016 by BumblingBookworm in #LoveOzYA, Books / 0 Comments

Review: Night Owls by Jenn Bennett

Review: Night Owls by Jenn Bennett

Night Owls by Jenn Bennett Published by Simon and Schuster UK on August 13th 2015 Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance Pages: 272 Format: ARC, Paperback Source: Simon & Schuster Australia Book Depository | Bookworld | Booktopia | Dymocks Goodreads Feeling alive is always worth the risk. Meeting Jack on the Owl—San Francisco’s night bus—turns Beatrix’s world upside down. Jack is charming, wildly attractive…and possibly one of San Francisco’s most notorious graffiti artists. But Jack is hiding a piece of himself. On midnight rides and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who this enigmatic boy really is. I received this book for free from Simon & Schuster Australia in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of […]

Posted October 20, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) by Rick Riordan

Review: The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1) by Rick Riordan

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan Series: Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1 Published by Puffin Books on October 6th 2015 Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology Pages: 528 Format: ARC, Paperback Source: Penguin Teen Australia Book Depository | Bookworld | Booktopia | Dymocks Goodreads Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers. One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he’s never met – a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god. The Viking myths […]

Posted October 19, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: How to Be Happy: A Memoir of Love, Sex and Teenage Confusion by David Burton

Review: How to Be Happy: A Memoir of Love, Sex and Teenage Confusion by David Burton

How to Be Happy: A Memoir of Love, Sex and Teenage Confusion by David Burton Published by Text Publishing on August 26th 2015 Genres: Memoir Pages: 288 Format: Paperback, Review Copy Source: Text Publishing Bookworld | Booktopia | Dymocks Goodreads *Winner, the Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing, 2014* A funny, sad and serious memoir, ‘How to Be Happy’ is David Burton’s story of his turbulent life at high school and beyond. Feeling out of place and convinced that he is not normal, David has a rocky start. He longs to have a girlfriend, but his first ‘date’ is a disaster. There’s the catastrophe of the school swimming carnival – David is not sporty – and friendships that […]

Posted September 22, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Review: The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick Series: My Life Next Door #2 Published by Dial Books on August 18th 2015 Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance Pages: 432 Format: Hardcover Source: Library Also by this author: My Life Next Door Book Depository | Bookworld | Booktopia | Dymocks | iTunes Goodreads A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han  Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters. For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall […]

Posted September 20, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: Risk by Fleur Ferris

Review: Risk by Fleur Ferris

Risk by Fleur Ferris Publisher/Year: Random House Australia, 1 July 2015 Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Format: eARC Source: Courtesy of the Publisher Rating: 5 stars Other books from author: This is her debut novel! Booktopia | Dymocks | Bookworld Goodreads | Twitter | Website I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Goodreads Synopsis Taylor and Sierra have been best friends for their whole lives. But Taylor’s fed up. Why does Sierra always get what – and who – she wants? From kissing Taylor’s crush to stealing the guy they both met online for herself, Sierra doesn’t […]

Posted August 17, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Review: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider Publisher/Year: Simon & Schuster AU, 1 June 2015 Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance Format: eARC and Paperback Source: Courtesy of the Publisher Rating: 4 stars Other books from author: Better Than Yesterday, The Beginning of Everything and more… Book Depository | Goodreads | Website | Twitter I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Goodreads Synopsis A bitter-sweet, coming-of-age novel that’s perfect for fans of John Green and Stephen Chbosky. When he’s sent to Latham House, a boarding school for sick teens, Lane thinks his life may as well be over. But […]

Posted August 11, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments

Review: Adrift by Paul Griffin

Review: Adrift by Paul Griffin

Adrift by Paul Griffin Publisher/Year: Text Publishing, 29 July 2015 Genre:  Young Adult, Thriller Format: ARC, Paperback Source: Courtesy of the Publisher Rating: 3 stars Other books from author: Burning Blue, The Orange Houses, Ten Mile River, Stay With Me and more… Bookworld | Book Depository | Goodreads | Website I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Goodreads Synopsis Five of us went out on the water that night. None of us came back whole, and not all of us came back. Best friends Matt and John are spending the summer working: Matt to save money […]

Posted August 9, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 2 Comments

Review: The Potion Diaries (Potion #1) by Amy Alward

Review: The Potion Diaries (Potion #1) by Amy Alward

The Potion Diaries (Potion #1) by Amy Alward Publisher/Year: Simon & Schuster AU, 2 July 2015 Genre:  Young Adult, Fantasy Format: ARC Source: Courtesy of the Publisher Rating: 3.5 stars Other books from author: This is Amy Alward’s debut novel! Bookworld | Goodreads | Website | Twitter I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Goodreads Synopsis When the Princess of Nova accidentally poisons herself with a love potion meant for her crush, she falls crown-over-heels in love with her own reflection. Oops. A nationwide hunt is called to find the cure, with competitors travelling the world […]

Posted July 27, 2015 by BumblingBookworm in Books / 0 Comments